Shatta Wale, Sarkodie, DJ Switch &Kwame Yeboah win at IRAWMA 2021

Winners of the 2021 International Reggae and World Music Awards (IRAWMA) were announced on Sunday, May 16, 2021.

This year’s edition which happens to be the 39th IRAWMA saw some Ghanaian artists being named among winners on the night. The acts include Sarkodie, Shatta, DJ Switch, and Kwame Yeboah.

Sarkodie picked up the ‘Best Virtual Showcase/Concert of The Year’ with his BlackLove Concert. Shatta Wale won the ‘Virtual Entertainer of The Year’ award ahead of Beenie Man, Buju Banton, and other top reggae stars.

READ ALSO: “You`re the best to promote your talent” – Blogger Kobby JosVan says

Young disc jockey, DJ Switch, also bagged the ‘Best Young Entertainer of The Year’ while Kwame Yeboah emerged as the ‘Instrumentalist of The Year’.

See full list of nominees and winners below.

1.Emperor of Reggae & World Music – Hon. Bob Marley Award for Entertainer of the Year

▪Buju Banton – WINNER
▪Sizzla Kolongi

2.Peter Tosh Award for Recording Artist of the Year – Sponsored by IRIE FM

▪Buju Banton
▪Tarrus Riley

Egya Awiah JosVan Grabs Nomination At Nzema Showbiz & Creative Art Awards As “Best Nzema Publicist/Online Influencer”

3.Jacob Miller Award for Best Male Vocalist – Sponsored by

CHECK OUT: You dont owe favour to anybody to support your hustle – Young Ghanaian CEO advises

▪Gramps Morgan
▪Romain Virgo
▪Tarrus Riley – WINNER

4.Best Female Vocalist – Sponsored by Missyquai Signature Hair

▪Koffee – WINNER
▪Lila Ike
5 . Noami Cowan
Gregory Isaacs for Best Song – Sponsored by DSE (Downsound Entertainment)

▪“Blessed”- Buju Banton
▪“People LIke You” – Gramps Morgan
▪“Lock Down”- Koffee – WINNER
▪“Like Royalty”- Protoje & PopCaan
▪“Lighter” – Taurus Riley & Shenseea & Rvssian

  1. Toots Hibbert Award for Best Album/CD – By MCGES (Minister of Culture, Gender, Entertainment & Sports)

▪“Upside Down- Buju Banton – WINNER
▪“In Search of Lost Time”- Protoje
▪“Higher Place”- Skip Marley
▪“One World” – The Wailers, featuring Skip Marley, Farruko, Shaggy and Cedella Marley.
▪“Hot Shot 2020”- Shaggy

  1. Best Crossover Song
    ▪“People Like You” – Gramps Morgan
    ▪“Don’t Walk Away”- John Legend, featuring Koffee
    ▪”Party Next Door” – PopCaan, featuring Drake – WINNER
    ▪“I Don’t Know Why” – Rvissian, featuring Shenseea, Swae Lee and Young Tug
    ▪”Slow Down”- Ship Marley and “H.E.R.”

  2. Best Gospel Song
    ▪“Forgiveness”- Eddie Neblett
    ▪“People Like You” – Gramps Morgan – WINNER
    ▪”Carry Me” – Kevin Downswell
    ▪“Watch Over Me” – Jermaine Edwards
    ▪“I’m Gonna Trust You” – Judith Gayle

  3. U-Roy Award for Best Male Dancehall Artist
    ▪Beenie Man
    ▪Buju Banton
    ▪Bounty Killer

  4. Best Female Dancehall Artist
    ▪Jada Kingdom
    ▪Stefflon Don

  5. Best New Entertainer – Sponsored by IRIE JAM – 360
    ▪Alicia Harley – Jamaica
    ▪Nailah Blackman- Trinidad
    ▪Nomcebo Zikode – South Africa – WINNER
    ▪Sevena – Jamaica
    ▪Skillibeng – Jamaica

  6. Best Virtual Entertainer of the Year
    ▪Agent Sasco
    ▪Beenie Man & Bounty ▪Killer – Verzuz
    ▪Buju Banton
    ▪Shatta Wale – WINNER

  7. Best Calypso/Soca Entertainer

▪Farmer Nappy
▪Nadia Batson
▪Nailah Blackman
▪Patrice Roberts

  1. Best Dancehall Stagecraft Entertainer – Sponsored by Onstage TV Winford Williams

▪Agent Sasco
▪Beenie Man & Bounty Killer- Verzuz Battle
▪Buju Banton
▪Desta Daps
▪Sizzla Kalonji

MTV Movie & TV Awards 2021: Full List Of…
May 17, 2021

Vinka kicks fan who tried to touch her genitalia…

May 16, 2021

  1. Best Latin – Reggae Flavor Entertainer

▪Bad Bunny – Puerto Rico
▪Daddy Yankee – WINNER
▪Don Omar

  1. Best African Dancehall Entertainer

▪Buffalo Souljah – South Africa
▪Shatta Wale – Ghana
▪Stonebwoy – Ghana
▪Patoranking – Nigeria
▪Winky D – Zimbabwe – WINNER

  1. Best Afrobeat Entertainer – Sponsored by African Spectrum

▪Burna Boy – Nigeria
▪Davido – Nigeria
▪Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania
▪Master KG, featuring Nomcebo Zikode “Jerusalema” – South Africa
▪Wizkid – Nigeria

18 . Best Virtual Showcase/Concert

▪Beenie Man vs Bounty Verzuz Battle
▪Rebel Salute
▪Reggae Sumfest
▪Sarkodie – Black Love Virtual Concert – WINNER

  1. Best R&B/Hip Hop & Reggae Collaborated Song

▪“Trust” – Buju Banton and Tory Lanez
▪”Slow Down”- Skip Marley and H.E.R
▪”Twist” – Drake & Popcaan – WINNER
▪“Don’t Walk Away”- Koffee – featuring John Legend
▪“Love Mi Ladies“ – Oryane – featuring Sean Paul

  1. Best Reggae Rock Entertainer

▪Gentleman – WINNER
▪Rebelution Band
▪Slightly Stoopid
▪Stick Figure

  1. Best Young Entertainer (18 years and under) – Portland Curry Fest

▪DJ Switch – WINNER
▪DJ Whitney
▪Wayne J.

  1. Best Music Video

▪Buju Banton “Blessed”
▪Master KG, featuring Nomcebo- “Jerusalema” – WINNER
▪Sevana – “ Mango”
▪Taurus Riley & ▪Shenseea “Lighter”
▪Sean Paul- “Love Me Ladies”
▪The Wailers, featuring Skip Marley, Farruko, Shaggy and Cedella Marley- “One World”

  1. Mutabaruka Award for Best Poet/Spoken Word Entertainer

▪Antonia Valaire, Aka Christina Williams
▪Malachi Smith
▪Richie Innocent
▪Vachi Kepwe Di Poet – Zimbabwe – WINNER
▪Wise Wurdz

  1. Most Cultural/Educational Entertainer

▪Anthony B.
▪Ras Takura – WINNER
▪Kabaka Pyramid

  1. Dennis Brown Award for Most Promising Entertainer

▪Lila Ike
▪Orisha Sound
▪Sevana – WINNER

  1. Best Instrumentalist – Sponsored by 25th Century Radio
    ▪Dean Fraser
    ▪Bongo Herman
    ▪Kwame Yeboah – WINNER
    ▪Sly & Robbie

  2. Best Sound System/DJ
    ▪Dynamq – Africa – WINNER
    ▪Little Thunder – Canada
    ▪Pink Panther – Jamaica
    ▪Tony Matterhorn – Jamaica

  3. Best Caribbean Entertainer – Sponsored by VP Records

▪Beenie Man
▪Bounty Killer
▪Buju Banton
▪Sean Paul

  1. Record Producer of the Year – Sponsored by Balloons by Jaki Jade

▪Chimney Records – WINNER
▪Dane Ray
▪Andron “IzyBeats” Cross

  1. Comedian of the Year
    ▪Chris “Johnny” Daley – WINNER
    ▪Ity & Fancy Cat
    ▪Majah Hype
    ▪Oliver Samuels
    ▪Prince Pine
    ▪Marcus Garvey

  2. Humanitarian Award Nominees
    ▪Bounty Killer
    ▪Buju Banton – WINNER
    ▪Sharon Wiles
    ▪Sonia Patterson- Portland Curry Fest.

  3. IRAWMA Award of Honor: Papa Michigan

  4. IRAWMA Special Philanthropist Award: Josef Bogdanovich

  5. IRAWMA 2021 Inductee IRAWMA Hall of Fame/ Lifetime Achievement Award recipient: Ziggy Marley.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here